Eiko's blog page


jash, my first shell in C! - 2023
Eiko Akiba * 29 feb 2023
hello and welcome to another linux recreation!, today is a day of linux shells :D
It's so cool to make your own linux shell, it's not just about the linux commands, it's about to make a (mini) interpreter that can run your commands

I was thinking about how linux shells work (and I was a little bit bored), then I decided to search about it on the google, and guess what? I found a very nice person that made a very cool article about how to make our own shell emulator program!, And when I saw that he is doing it with C programming language I was even more happy lol.

That's why I started to read the article and enjoy it. This blog is not about what he did to make a simple shell, this blog is about my own shell emulator, called Jash. I decided to make a simple shell with some different ideas than other ones (sh, bash, zsh, etc.). but also before I start to talk about those things, I just want to say the 70% of this project is fun!, then don't look at it as a product release program.